Current Seminars

The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology hosts several seminars each semester featuring on-campus faculty as well as prominent research scientists from other universities and institutions. These seminars are designed to broaden the knowledge of students, faculty and staff in the areas of current research and application of biochemistry and bio-technology.

 Fall 2017 Seminar Schedule

DATE

SPEAKER

 

TITLE

HOST

Mon., Aug. 21

10:00 am

Fabiana Duarte, Ph.D.

 

“Transcription factors GAF and HSF act at distinct regulatory steps to modulate stress-induced gene activation”

 J. Lucas Argueso Ph.D. (ERHS) co-sponsored with BMB
Mon., Aug. 28 Lubna Tahtamouni, Ph.D.

 

James Bamburg, Ph.D.
Mon., Sept. 4

10:00 am

Labor Day

 

Mon., Sept. 11

10:00 am

Available

 

Mon.,Sept. 18
10:00 am
Richard McKenney Ph.D. UC Davis Cooperative Accumulation of Dynein-Dynactin at Microtubule Minus-Ends Drives Microtubule Network Reorganization” Steven Markus, Ph.D.
Mon., Sept. 25

10:00 am

Available
Mon., Oct. 2

10:00 am

Available
Mon., Oct. 9

10:00 am

Jennifer DeLuca, Ph.D.  “Achieving accurate chromosome segregation in mitosis: The making and breaking of dynamic kinetochore-microtubule attachments”
Mon., Oct. 16

10:00 am

Dustin Updike, Ph.D.

Desert Mountain Institute

 “Unraveling the function of germ-granule RNPs in C. elegans.”  Erin Nishimura, Ph.D.
Mon.,  Oct.23

10:00 am

Available

Mon., Oct. 30

10:00 am

Available

Mon. ,Nov. 6

10:00 am

Matthew Scholfield, Ph.D.

CSU

“Making The Transition To Industry: My Experience With Pharmaceutical Development” P. Shing Ho, Ph.D.

Mon., Nov. 13

Daniel LaBarbera, Ph.D.

CU Anschutz,  

 Reversing EMT as a therapeutic strategy for metastatic cancer.  Chaoping Chen, Ph.D.
Mon., Nov. 20

10:00 am

Fall Recess
Thurs., Nov. 27 10:00 am Fred Hoerndli, Ph.D.

CSU

More than just motors: mobile signaling complexes that regulate synaptic function Erin Nishimura, Ph.D.

 Mon.,Dec. 4

Bernhard Geierstanger, Ph.D.
Novaris Research Foundation
Site-specific protein conjugation strategies for the preparation of homogenous Antibody Drug Conjugates P. Shing Ho, Ph.D.

                        Spring 2018 Seminar Schedule

 Date  Speaker  Title  Host

Mon., Jan. 22

10:00 am

Ann Miller, Ph.D.

University of Michigan

Steven Markus, Ph.D.

Mon., Jan. 29

10:00 am

Sebastian Pott, Ph.D.

University of Chicago


 Erin Nishimura, Ph.D.

Mon., Feb. 5

10:00 am

NOT AVAILABLE – NO SPEAKER
Mon., Feb. 12 10:00 am NOT AVAILABLE – NO SPEAKER

 

Fri., Feb.19

10:00 am

NOT AVAILABLE – NO SPEAKER
Mon.,Feb. 26
10:00 am
 Available  
Mon., Mar. 5
10:00 am
Available

 Mon., Mar. 12

 Spring Break

 Mon., Mar. 19

10:00 am

Available
Mon., Mar. 27
10:00 am

 Available

 

Mon.,  Apr. 2

10:00 am

Available

Mon., Apr. 9

10:00 am

Martin McCullagh, Ph.D

CSU

P. Shing Ho, Ph.D
Mon., Apr. 16 10:00 am Available  
Mon., Apr. 23

10:00 am

Available

Mon., Apr. 30

10:00 am

Available

 

Presenting August 21, 2017

Fabiana Duarte, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday August 21st, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Transcription factors GAF and HSF act at distinct regulatory steps to modulate stress-induced gene activation”

Presenting August 28, 2017

Lubna Tahtamouni, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday August 28th, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Being a woman scientist in Jordan; reality, the dream and the future”

“Cooperative Accumulation of Dynein-Dynactin at Microtubule Minus-Ends Drives Microtubule Network Reorganization”

Richard J. McKenney, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday September 18th, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

Seminar, Monday October 9, 2017

Jennifer DeLuca, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday October 9th, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Achieving accurate chromosome segregation in mitosis: The making and breaking of dynamic kinetochore-microtubule attachments”

Seminar, Monday October 16, 2017

Dustin Updike, PH.D. Presents:

Monday October 16th, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Unraveling the function of germ-granule RNPs in C. elegans.”

Seminar, Monday November 6, 2017

Matthew Scholfield, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday November 6th, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Making The Transition To Industry: My Experience With Pharmaceutical Development”

Seminar, Monday November 13, 2017

Dan V. LaBarbera, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday November 13th, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Reversing EMT as a therapeutic strategy for metastatic cancer.”

Seminar Monday November 27, 2017

Fred Hoerndli, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday November 27th, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“More than just motors: mobile signaling complexes that regulate synaptic function”

Seminar Monday December 4, 2017

Bernhard Geierstanger, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday December 4th, 2017 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Site-specific protein conjugation strategies for the preparation of homogenous Antibody Drug Conjugates”  

Click here for the Seminar Archives