Current Seminars

The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology hosts several seminars each semester featuring on-campus faculty as well as prominent research scientists from other universities and institutions. These seminars are designed to broaden the knowledge of students, faculty and staff in the areas of current research and application of biochemistry and bio-technology.

 Fall 2017 Seminar Schedule

DATE

SPEAKER

 

TITLE

HOST

Mon., Aug. 21

10:00 am

Fabiana Duarte, Ph.D.

 

“Transcription factors GAF and HSF act at distinct regulatory steps to modulate stress-induced gene activation”

 J. Lucas Argueso Ph.D. (ERHS) co-sponsored with BMB
Mon., Aug. 28 Lubna Tahtamouni, Ph.D.

 

James Bamburg, Ph.D.
Mon., Sept. 4

10:00 am

Labor Day

 

Mon., Sept. 11

10:00 am

Available

 

Mon.,Sept. 18
10:00 am
Richard McKenney Ph.D. UC Davis Cooperative Accumulation of Dynein-Dynactin at Microtubule Minus-Ends Drives Microtubule Network Reorganization” Steven Markus, Ph.D.
Mon., Sept. 25

10:00 am

Available
Mon., Oct. 2

10:00 am

Available
Mon., Oct. 9

10:00 am

Jennifer DeLuca, Ph.D.  “Achieving accurate chromosome segregation in mitosis: The making and breaking of dynamic kinetochore-microtubule attachments”
Mon., Oct. 16

10:00 am

Dustin Updike, Ph.D.

Desert Mountain Institute

 “Unraveling the function of germ-granule RNPs in C. elegans.”  Erin Nishimura, Ph.D.
Mon.,  Oct.23

10:00 am

Available

Mon., Oct. 30

10:00 am

Available

Mon. ,Nov. 6

10:00 am

Matthew Scholfield, Ph.D.

CSU

“Making The Transition To Industry: My Experience With Pharmaceutical Development” P. Shing Ho, Ph.D.

Mon., Nov. 13

Daniel LaBarbera, Ph.D.

CU Anschutz,  

 Reversing EMT as a therapeutic strategy for metastatic cancer.  Chaoping Chen, Ph.D.
Mon., Nov. 20

10:00 am

Fall Recess
Thurs., Nov. 27 10:00 am Fred Hoerndli, Ph.D.

CSU

More than just motors: mobile signaling complexes that regulate synaptic function Erin Nishimura, Ph.D.

 Mon.,Dec. 4

Bernhard Geierstanger, Ph.D.
Novaris Research Foundation
Site-specific protein conjugation strategies for the preparation of homogenous Antibody Drug Conjugates P. Shing Ho, Ph.D.

                        Spring 2018 Seminar Schedule

 Date  Speaker  Title  Host

Mon., Jan. 22

10:00 am

Ann Miller, Ph.D.

University of Michigan

“Regulation of cytokinesis and cell-cell junction dynamics in the vertebrate epithelium” Steven Markus, Ph.D.

Mon., Jan. 29

10:00 am

Sebastian Pott, Ph.D.

University of Chicago

“Measuring chromatin organization and transcription in single cells”
 Erin Nishimura, Ph.D.

Mon., Feb. 5

10:00 am

Faculty Search
Mon., Feb. 12 10:00 am Faculty Search

 

Mon., Feb.19

10:00 am

Faculty Search
Mon.,Feb. 26
10:00 am
Davide Mazza, Ph.D.
San Raffaele Scientific Institute -Milan, Italy
“Single molecule action of transcription factor in living cells: Lessons from the tumor-suppressor p53”   Tim Stasevich, Ph.D.
Mon., Mar. 5
10:00 am
Joshua Black, Ph.D.

University of Colorado
Anschutz Medical Campus

“Understanding Epigenetic Regulation of Copy Number” Lydia Heasley, Ph.D.

 Mon., Mar. 12

 Spring Break

 Mon., Mar. 19

10:00 am

Greg Odorizzi, Ph.D.

University of Colorado, Boulder

“Membrane scission by the ESCRT-III complex” Jennifer Shattuck
Tues., Mar 20

11:00 am

Yajie Gu, Ph.D.

 

“STRUCTURAL INSIGHTS INTO CHROMATIN ASSEMBLY FACTOR 1 AND ITS NUCLEOSOME ASSEMBLY MECHANISM” Biochemistry Department
Tues., Mar 20

2:00 pm

Alison Thurston, Ph.D.

“The Chromatin Binding Factor Spn1 Contributes to Genome Instability in Saccharomyces cerevisiae” Biochemistry Department
Mon., Mar. 27
10:00 am

 Available

 

Mon.,  Apr. 2

10:00 am

Florian Mueller, Ph.D.

Computational Imaging & Modeling Unit – Institute Pasteur, Département Biologie Cellulaire et Infections

 

“A quantitative framework to study sub-cellular mRNA localization”

 

Tim Stasevich, Ph.D. 

Mon., Apr. 9

10:00 am

Available
Mon., Apr. 16 10:00 am Martin McCullagh, Ph.D
CSU
“Allostery along the ATP hydrolysis cycle of dengue viral NS3 helicase” P. Shing Ho, Ph.D
Mon., Apr. 23

10:00 am

Aaron Sholders, Ph.D. “Approaching Instruction as a Scientist” Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Mon., Apr. 30

10:00 am

Erich Kushner, Ph.D.

University of Denver

“Regulation of Basement Membrane Secretion in Blood Vessels” Erin Nishimura, Ph.D

Mon., June 11

Wes Sundquist Woody Lecture Series

Seminar: Monday, January 22, 2018

Ann Miller, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday January 22nd, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

 

Seminar: Monday, January 29, 2018

Sebastian Pott, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday January 29th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Measuring chromatin organization and transcription in single cells”

BMB Seminar: Monday, February 26, 2018

Davide Mazza, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday February 26th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Single molecule action of transcription factor in living cells: Lessons from the tumor-suppressor p53”

BMB Seminar: Monday, March 5, 2018

Joshua Black, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday March 5th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Understanding Epigenetic Regulation of Copy Number”

BMB Seminar: Monday, March 19, 2018

Greg Odorizzi, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday March 19th, 2018 at 10:00 AM in MRB 312

“Membrane scission by the ESCRT-III complex”

Alison Thurston Ph.D. Defense

Presents:

Tuesday March 20th, 2018 at 2:00PM in MRB 312

“The Chromatin Binding Factor Spn1 Contributes to Genome Instability in Saccharomyces cerevisiae”

Yajie Gu Ph.D. Defense

Presents:

Tuesday March 20th, 2018 at 11:00AM in MRB 312

STRUCTURAL INSIGHTS INTO CHROMATIN ASSEMBLY FACTOR 1 AND ITS NUCLEOSOME ASSEMBLY MECHANISM”

BMB SEMINAR: April 2, 2018

Florian Mueller, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday April 2nd, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“A quantitative framework to study sub-cellular mRNA localization”

BMB SEMINAR: April 16, 2018

Martin McCullagh, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday April 16th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Allostery along the ATP hydrolysis cycle of dengue viral NS3 helicase“

Seminar: Monday April 23, 2018

Aaron Sholders, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday April 23rd, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Approaching Instruction as a Scientist”

BMB SEMINAR: Monday, April 30, 2018

Erich Kushner, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday April 30th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Regulation of Basement Membrane Secretion in Blood Vessels”

Seminar: Woody Lecture – Wes Sundquist

Presents:

Monday June 11th, 2018 at in

Click here for the Seminar Archives