Current Seminars

The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology hosts several seminars each semester featuring on-campus faculty as well as prominent research scientists from other universities and institutions. These seminars are designed to broaden the knowledge of students, faculty and staff in the areas of current research and application of biochemistry and bio-technology.

 

                        Summer 2018 Seminar Schedule

 Date  Speaker  Title  Host
Mon, Jun 11 Wes Sundquist  TBD Woody Lecture Series

          

Fall 2018 Seminar Schedule

Date Speaker Title Host
 Mon, Aug 20  Reserved for Department Chair Laurie Stargell, Ph.D.
 Mon, Aug 27 Kelly C. Wrighton, Ph.D.
CSU
Department of Soil and Crop Science
“From the deep biosphere to the human gut: tracking microbial methylamine metabolism across ecosystem Thomas Santangelo, Ph.D.
 Mon, Sep 3  University Holiday
Mon, Sep 10  Katya Grishchuk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Chromosomes on the edge: coupling kinetochores
to dynamic microtubule ends” 
Jennifer, DeLuca Ph.D.
 Mon, Sep 17  Kassandra  Ori-McKenney, Ph.D.
UC Davis
“Microtubule Cartography: The Role of Microtubule-Associated Proteins in Lattice Gating”

 

Steven Markus, Ph.D.
 Mon, Sep 24 Matthew Taliaferro, Ph.D.
University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
RNA Bioscience Initiative

    “mRNA localization:      Delivering the message”

Erin Nishimura, Ph.D.
 Mon, Oct 1 Available
 Mon, Oct 15  Dr. Dileep Varma
Northwestern University
“Mechanisms controlling formation and stabilization of kinetochores microtubule attachments during mito Jennifer DeLuca, Ph.D.
 Mon, Oct 22 Dr. Srinivas Ramachandran
CU Anschutz Medical Campus
TBD Tingting Yao, Ph.D.
 Mon, Oct 29 Available
 Mon, Nov 5 Greg Hermann, Ph.D
Lewis and Clark College
Santiago Di Pietro, Ph.D
 Mon, Nov 12 Karine Gousset, Ph.D.
California State University -Fresno
TBD  Erin Nishimura, Ph.D.
 Mon, Nov 19 Fall Break-No Classes
 Mon, Nov 26 Available
 Mon, Dec 3 Available
 Mon, Dec 10 Finals Week

Spring 2019 Seminar Schedule

Date Speaker Title Host
Mon, Jan 28 Louise Cramer Jim Bamburg, Ph.D.
Mon, Feb 4 Faculty Search-Candidate Seminar Department
Mon, Feb 11 Available
Mon, Feb 18 Available
Mon, Feb 25 Available
Mon, Mar 4 Available
Mon, Mar 11 Available
Mon, Mar 18 Spring Break
Mon, Mar 25 Available
Mon, Apr 1 Available
Mon, Apr 8 Available
Mon, Apr 15 Available
Mon, Apr 22 Dr. Daniela Cimini
Virginia Tech
TBD  Jennifer DeLuca, Ph.D.
Mon, Apr 29 Available
Mon, May 6 Available
Mon, May 13  Finals Week

 

 

 

2018 Robert and A-Young Woody Lecture

Wes Sundquist Presents:

Monday June 11th, 2018 at 3:00 P.M. in Biology 136 Lecture Hall

 Membrane Remodeling by the ESCRT Pathway Wes Sundquist University of Utah Department of Biochemistry Dr. Sundquist is known for his research into the structure and biochemistry of the ESCRT proteins that facilitate membrane rearrangements and vesicle formation during intracellular transport, and these proteins also play major roles in the assembly of enveloped viruses such as […]

BMB Seminar, Monday Aug. 27, 2018

Kelly C. Wrighton, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday August 27th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

  “From the deep biosphere to the human gut: tracking microbial methylamine metabolism across ecosystem”

BMB Seminar, Monday, September 10, 2018

Ekaterina Grishchuk, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday September 10th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Chromosomes on the edge: coupling kinetochores to dynamic microtubule ends”

BMB Seminar Monday, September 17, 2018

Kassandra Ori-McKenney, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday September 17th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Microtubule Cartography: The Role of Microtubule-Associated Proteins in Lattice Gating”

BMB Seminar, Monday, September 24, 2018

Matthew Taliaferro, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday September 24th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“mRNA Localization: Delivering the Message”

BMB SEMINAR, Monday, October 15, 2018

Dileep Varma, Ph.D. Presents:

Monday October 15th, 2018 at 10:00AM in MRB 312

“Mechanisms controlling formation and stabilization of kinetochores microtubule attachments during mito”

Click here for the Seminar Archives