Two Colorado State University biomedical researchers, Erin Osborne Nishimura and Kelly Santangelo, have received Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards from the Boettcher Foundation.

Nishimura and Santangelo join seven other top Colorado researchers in this year’s class of Boettcher Investigators, as they are called.

Now in its eighth year, the Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards program honors early-career researchers with three-year, $235,000 grants to advance their independent research and position them to compete for major federal and private awards. Previously honored CSU Boettcher Investigators are: Melissa Reynolds, John D. (Nick) Fisk, Tingting Yao, J. Lucas Argueso, Brad Borlee, Christopher L. Gentile, Tai Montgomery, Rushika Perera and Tim Stasevich.

To date, the Webb-Waring awards have supported 54 Boettcher Investigators at the state’s leading academic and research institutions.

“This year’s award recipients are doing important work that has the potential to significantly improve human health,” said Katie Kramer, CEO of the Boettcher Foundation. “The Boettcher Foundation is proud to help propel this research forward, because Colorado can only be a leader in scientific innovation if its most dynamic scientific minds are supported at early stages in their work.”

Read the whole article from Source here:

All Announcements